Frank Dangeard





Frank Dangeard

NatWest Markets Plc

Joined the company


Current positions




RBS Group Board member since 2016
NatWest Markets Chairman since 2018

As well as being Chairman of NatWest Markets, Frank serves on the boards of The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc (UK), Arqiva (UK) and Symantec Corp (USA).  He is an ‘advisory’ board member of various listed and non-listed companies, principally in the technology/ telecom, finance and energy sectors.

Frank is also a Director-in-Residence at INSEAD and Co-Chairman of the Advisory Board of Hawkamah, the corporate governance institute of the MENA region, based in Dubai.

In the financial sector, Frank has served on the boards of Crédit Agricole CIB (France) and Home Credit (Czech Republic). In the technology/telecom sector, he has served on the boards of Orange, Equant and Wanadoo (France Télécom/Orange Group), Eutelsat (France), Sonaecom (Portugal), and has been Deputy Chairman and Acting Chairman of Telenor (Norway). In the energy sector, he has served on the boards of EDF (France) and Hindustan Power (India). He has also chaired the Strategy Board of PwC (France), and has been a member of the Advisory Boards of the Harvard Business School (USA) and of École des Hautes Études Commerciales (France).

From 2004 to 2008, Frank served as Chairman and CEO of Thomson SA (France) and prior to that as Deputy CEO of France Télécom. Frank’s earlier career was predominantly spent in investment banking, where he served as a Managing Director of SG Warburg & Co in London and Madrid, and latterly as Chairman of SG Warburg France. From 1986 to 1988, he was with Sullivan & Cromwell LLP, a US law firm, in New York and London.

Frank is a French Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite and Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. His most recent book, ‘La décision de crise dans l’entreprise – 12 histoires de gouvernance’, was published in February 2011 by Editions Odile Jacob, Paris. 

Frank graduated from the Hautes Études Commerciales (Prix Jouy-Entreprise), the Paris Institut d’Études Politiques (Lauréat) and Harvard Law School (Fulbright Scholar, HLS Fellow). 

Set Tab for lightbox